Austria Tabak said: “We don’t have enough scope to stand out”

Cigarette brands find it very difficult nowadays to stage their own branding effectively. In Austria, tobacco products can now only be advertised at the point of sale, and even there restrictions continue to grow. Despite this – or perhaps because of this – the competition for customers is fierce, as brands try to garner attention as skilfully and strikingly as possible in a confined space.

We say: “Brands with charisma are innovative”

Eye-tracking studies have shown that there are two main points of reference in a tobacconist’s that customers afford particular attention: the tobacconist is one; the other is the shelving.

In the past, these shelves were only home to products and an array of wobblers. We looked into this problem and set about creating an innovative solution in order to redesign the most attractive point of sale area.

We hit the jackpot with a producer from Denmark who had developed a new technology for 3D hologram animations. This innovation formed the basis of a new product for shelving, which can be used for all brands and can be continually redesigned: the Holobox.

Holobox sketch
How it all started.

The Holobox allows brands to shine

The unique feature of Holobox is the fact that the product itself is placed front and centre. The cigarette packet is placed in the Holobox and is then surrounded by an animated brand world with the relevant campaign content. This affords considerable creative freedom: the box draws customers’ gazes as its contents constantly change, providing diverse visual stimuli.

Benefits of the Holobox

  • Placed in the shelf
  • Can be used for all brands
  • Can be continually redesigned
  • Visual stimuli by constant changes
  • Creative freedom
Holobox at the tobacconist's
New brand experiences have been staged every month in over 600 tobacconists across Austria since the Holobox was launched in 2012.

Team

Back to Overview

Austria Tabak so: „Wir haben viel zu wenig Spielraum, um aufzufallen“

Als Zigarettenmarke hat man es inzwischen sehr schwer, seine eigene Marke zu inszenieren. Denn Tabakwaren-Werbung ist nur noch direkt am Point of Sale möglich und auch dort nehmen die Restriktionen laufend zu. Trotzdem oder vielleicht gerade deshalb werden die Kunden heiß umkämpft und alle Marken versuchen, sich auf kleinstem Raum möglichst geschickt und auffallend in Szene zu setzen.

Wir so: „Marken mit Charisma sind erfinderisch“

Aus Eye-Tracking Studien wissen wir, dass es in der Trafik vor allem zwei Bezugspunkte gibt, die besonders viel Aufmerksamkeit geschenkt bekommen: Der Trafikant ist einer davon. Der zweite ist das Regal.

Dorthin hatten es bisher nur Produkte und diverse Wobbler geschafft. Das haben wir hinterfragt und uns auf die Suche nach einer innovativen Möglichkeit gemacht, um den attraktivsten Ort am Point of Sale neu zu bespielen.

Fündig wurden wir bei einem Produzenten aus Dänemark, der eine neue Technologie für 3D Hologramm Animationen entwickelt hat. Auf Basis dieser Innovation entstand ein Produkt für das Regal, das für alle Marken einsetzbar ist und laufend neu bespielt werden kann: die Holobox.

Holobox Skizze
Wie alles begann.

Die Holobox bringt Marken zum Leuchten

Das einzigartige an der Holobox ist die Tatsache, dass das Produkt selbst der Hauptakteur ist. Die Zigarettenpackung wird in der Holobox platziert und um sie herum wird die Markenwelt mit den jeweiligen Kampagneninhalten animiert. Gestalterisch lässt das viel Freiraum, optisch zieht die Box alle Blicke auf sich, da sich in ihr laufend etwas verändert und so optische Reize gesetzt werden.

Vorteile der Holobox

  • Platzierung im Regal
  • für alle Marken einsetzbar
  • laufend neu bespielbar
  • optische Reize durch ständige Veränderung
  • gestalterischer Freiraum
Holobox in der Trafik
In über 600 Trafiken in Österreich werden in der Holobox seit dem Launch 2012 jeden Monat neue Markenerlebnisse inszeniert.
Zurück zur Übersicht