Open design for open source

Open Minds Award
Open Minds Award Corporate Design

Open Minds Award 2017

From Wikipedia and Creative Commons through to Edubuntu, thousands of people around the globe work to develop humanity’s collective knowledge and expertise, providing immense added value for us all. Indeed, without open source we wouldn’t even have the Internet. But although Austria’s home-grown open source communities are active and successful, they receive very little recognition. To remedy this, such communities recently came together for the first time to create the Open Minds Award, recognising the nation’s key players and best projects in three main categories: Open Software, Open Hardware and Open Data.

What’s more, as Identum has long been a key player in the open source sphere – particularly as part of the Drupal Austria team – we also shared our expertise to assist the Open Minds Award. We worked to develop the corporate identity, assisted in overall communication and developed the awards concept and helped to organise the event.

www.openminds.at

Open Minds Award Website

The world’s first analogue open source logo

The fundamental concept of many people working together on a single idea provided the basis for our corporate design for “Open Minds Award”.

The design affords everyone the opportunity to fill the empty space between the brackets as they wish. Anyone can use their own ideas to develop this space. The brackets invite users to advance the design further and individualise it with their own ideas. Naturally, we also stayed true to this concept in designing the award statuettes.

The design varies depending on the application, thereby underscoring and supporting the fundamental idea of the open source community. Anybody can transform, transmute and reproduce the logo as they wish – which means the logo offers almost unlimited possibilities in adapting it to suit individual requirements. This makes it the world’s very first analogue open source logo.

Open Minds Award Corporate Design
Open Minds Award Sticker
Open Minds Award Sticker

Team

Back to Overview

Open Design für Open Source

Open Minds Award
Open Minds Award Corporate Design

Open Minds Award 2017

Von Wikipedia über Creative Commons bis Edubuntu: Tausende Menschen arbeiten weltweit an einem kollektiven Wissensschatz und stiften einen enormen Mehrwert für die Bevölkerung – so gäbe es ohne Open Source gar kein Internet. Weil die sehr aktiven und erfolgreichen heimischen Open Source Communities jedoch zu wenig präsent sind, schließen sie sich nun erstmals zusammen und zeichneten im Rahmen des Open Minds Award die besten nationalen ProtagonistInnen und Projekte in den drei Hauptkategorien Open Software, Open Hardware und Open Data aus.

Und da Identum sich schon seit langer Zeit im Bereich Open Source stark macht, u.a. im Rahmen des Vereins Drupal Austria, haben wir auch beim Open Minds Award unsere Expertise geteilt: bei der Entwicklung der Corporate Identity, der Gesamtkommunikation sowie der Konzeption und Organisation des Awards.

www.openminds.at

Open Mind Awards Webseite

Das erste analoge Open-Source-Logo der Welt

Die Grundidee, dass viele Menschen gemeinsam an einer Idee arbeiten, dient als Gestaltungsgrundlage für das Corporate Design, das wir für den „Open Minds Award“ entwickelt haben.

Jeder bekommt die Möglichkeit, den Leerraum zwischen den Klammern individuell weiter zu gestaltet. Jeder kann diesen Raum mit seinen eigenen Ideen weiter entwickeln. Die Klammer lädt dazu ein, das Design weiter zu denken und mit seinen eigenen Ideen zu individualisieren. Natürlich blieben wir auch bei der Gestaltung der Award-Statuette dieser Idee treu.

Je nach Anwendung verändert sich das Design und unterstützt so den Grundgedanken der Open Source Community. Jeder kann das Logo vervielfältigen, verwandeln und verändern. Somit bietet das Logo nahezu unbegrenzte Möglichkeiten der Weiterentwicklung für den individuellen Bedarf. Und wird so zum ersten analogen Open-Source-Logo der Welt.

Open Minds Award Geschäftsdrucksorten Corporate Design
Open Minds Award Sticker
Open Minds Award Sticker

Team

Zurück zur Übersicht